Area 1 – Vision and complementary cues

Vision and complementary cues

In many visual tasks where functioning in a changing and in part unpredictable environment is required, the contribution of different complementary cues is a key aspect to achieve robustness. Complementarity implies that distinct cues bring in added information within different contexts. For example intensity images will reveal relevant visual (appearance) details (texture, colour patterns) of an object surface, but these details cannot be well separated from unwanted illumination artefacts (shadows, highlights). On the other hand measured depth (3d) information is mostly unaffected by photometric variations while it does not encompass details in terms of visual appearance.

In this area each applied task will be analysed in light of the industrial requirements and task-directed cue integration will be performed. This cue selection and integration strategy follows the line-of–thought of Hager1 who noted: “The task the system must carry out determines what information is needed and to what level of refinement.”

To accomplish the K-Project’s goal of robust vision systems Area 1 brings in the required research know-how, while Area 2 considers all research and development aspects to rapidly transfer developed vision-based technology towards practical deployment.

The individual scientific projects of this area address three possible areas where additionality between distinct information channels prevails:

  • Multi-modal computer vision where (i) cue selection (what kind of cues) and (ii) cue combination (how to combine) play an important role.
  • Spatio-temporal processing which exploits the strongly correlated data structure in the space-time volume of aggregated data. In contrast to single-frame based analysis schemes, considering the space-time structure brings a robustness enhancement for many detection, segmentation and tracking tasks.
  • The Knowledge and interaction project will investigate statistical learning techniques exploiting information from labelled and unlabelled data sets and novel ways to integrate expert knowledge by advanced visualization schemes allowing for intuitive, minimally interactive user input.

1G. D. Hager, Task-Directed Sensor Fusion and Planning. A Computational Approach, The Kluwer International, Series in Engineering and Computer Science, Kluwer Academic Publishers, Dordrecht, Netherlands. ISBN 0-7923-9108-X, 1990

Bereich 1 – Vision und Zusatzinformationen

Vision und Zusatzinformationen

In vielen visuellen Aufgaben, die in verändernden und teilweise unberechenbaren Umfeld zuverlässig funktionieren müssen, ist der Beitrag unterschiedlicher komplementärer Signale zentraler Faktor um Robustheit zu erreichen. Komplementarität bedeutet, dass ausgeprägte Eigenschaften zusätzliche Informationen in unterschiedlichen Zusammenhängen einbringen. Zum Beispiel zeigen Intensitätsbilder relevante visuelle Details (Textur,  Farbmuster) einer Objektoberfläche, allerdings können diese Details nicht gut vor unerwünschten Artefakten (Schatten, Lichter) unterschieden werden. Auf der anderen Seite ist gemessene Tiefeninformation (3d) weitgehend unbeeinträchtigt von photometrischen Abweichungen, weist aber keine Details in Bezug auf visuelle Erscheinung auf.
In diesem Bereich wird jeder relevante Task hinsichtlich der industriellen Anforderungen analysiert und eine zielgerichtete Integration der Merkmale durchgeführt. Diese Strategie der Merkmals-Auswahl und -Integration folgt der Linie von Hager1: “Die Aufgabe, die das System durchführen muss  bestimmt, welche Informationen bis zu welchem Verfeinerungsgrad benötigt werden”
Zum generellen Ziel des K-Projekts, robuste Vision-Systeme zu erreichen, bringt Bereich 1 das erforderliche Forschungs-Know-how ein, während Bereich 2 alle Forschungs-und Entwicklungsaspekte in Betracht zieht, um die entwickelte Vision-basierte Technologie schnell zum praktischen Einsatz zu bringen.
Die einzelnen Forschungsprojekte in diesem Bereich befassen sich mit drei Themenbereichen, wo zusätzliche Informationen aus differenzierten Quellen vorherrschen:

  • Multi-modale Computer Vision , wobei ( i) Auswahl (welche Art von visuellen Merkmalen) und ( ii) Merkmalskombination ( wie sind diese zu kombinieren ) eine wichtige Rolle spielen .
  • Räumlich-zeitliche Verarbeitung, welche die stark korrelierende Datenstruktur im Raum-Zeit-Gefügeder angesammelten Daten ausnutzt. Im Gegensatz zurEinzelbild-basierten Analyse bringt die Berücksichtigung der Raum-Zeit-Struktur eine Verbesserung der Robustheit für viele Erkennungs-, Segmentierungs- und Tracking-Aufgaben.
  • Das Wissens-und Interaktionsprojekt wird sowohl statistische Lernverfahren mit Nutzung von gekennzeichneten und unbekannten Datensätzen untersuchen als auch neue Wege zur Integration von Expertenwissen durch zukunftsweisende Visualisierungskonzepte erforschen, welche intuitive, minimal-interaktive Benutzerschnittstellen ermöglichen.

1 G. D. Hager, Task-Directed Sensor Fusion and Planning. A Computational Approach, The Kluwer International, Series in Engineering and Computer Science, Kluwer Academic Publishers, Dordrecht, Netherlands. ISBN 0-7923-9108-X, 1990