Handheld photogrammetric system


DIBIT – Handheld photogrammetric system

As part of the project Vision + together with Dibit Messtechnik GmbH (Innsbruck/Austria) a handheld camera system for the 3D reconstruction of tunnels will be developed. A single camera is set-up in several positions, taking pictures of the tunnel surface, that are assembled to a 3D tunnel surface model in a fully automatic evaluation chain.

Image data capture is realized by the tunneling/advance/driving personnel close to the tunnel face (= the front end of the advance). Based on the following fully automatic analysis/evaluation, a decision on the quality of the outbreak can be made within a few minutes.

Technology developed and integrated in Vision+ comes from stereo – photogrammetry, pattern recognition and 3D modeling and reconstruction.
Main development partner of Dibit Messtechnik GmbH is the Machine Vision Applications Group of the institute DIGITAL of JOANNEUM RESEARCH.

Aufnahmesystem

The data capture test system for 3D reconstruction using a “handheld camera” uses a motorized tilted digital camera to take overlapping photos of the tunnel surface during excavation. The recording system was developed under the project Vision+ of Dibit Messtechnik GmbH, based on a commercially available digital camera.

Aufnahme

Test recording in tunnel advance, close to the tunnel face: Using two positions, a stereo – configuration is obtained to provide a base line for the subsequent 3D reconstruction of the tunnel surface. The surface is captured motor-driven in a circular manner.

InputImages
Captured Images
3_Match_A2_A3_surf
Dense stereo matching between overlapping images.
3D-Rekonstruktion-SkyBG
Unwrapped tunnel surface as a result of the evaluation chain from stereo – matching up to the fusion of the individual stereo reconstructions, based on the 3D design tunnel model.

Top

Handheld photogrammetric system


DIBIT – Handheld

Für die 3D Rekonstruktion im Tunnel wird im Rahmen von Vision+ zusammen mit Dibit Messtechnik GmbH (Innsbruck) ein System („Handheld“) entwickelt, das mit einer einzelnen Kamera, auf mehreren Positionen aufgestellt, Bilder der Oberfläche aufnimmt, die in einer vollautomatischen Auswertekette zu einem Tunnelmodell zusammengefügt werden.

Die Aufnahme erfolgt durch das Vortriebspersonal nahe der Ortsbrust (= das vordere Ende des Vortriebs). Anhand der nachfolgenden Auswertung kann in wenigen Minuten eine Entscheidung über die Qualität des Ausbruchs getroffen werden.

Die in Vision+ entwickelten und integrierten Methoden kommen aus der Stereo – Photogrammetrie, der Mustererkennung und der 3D Modellierung und Rekonstruktion.
Hauptentwicklungspartner von Dibit Messtechnik GmbH ist die Forschungsgruppe Bildanalyse und Messsysteme des Instituts DIGITAL von JOANNEUM RESEARCH.

Aufnahmesystem

Test-Aufnahmesystem für die 3D Rekonstruktion mittels „Handheld Kamera“: Motorisch geschwenkte handelsübliche Digital – Kamera für überlappende Fotos der Tunneloberfläche beim Vortrieb. Das Aufnahmesystem wurde im Rahmen des Projekts Vision+ von Dibit Messtechnik GmbH entwickelt, basierend auf einer handelsüblichen Digitalkamera.

Aufnahme

Test der Aufnahme im Tunnelvortrieb, direkt vor der Ortsbrust: Mittels zweier Positionen wird eine Stereo – Konfiguration hergestellt, die die Basis für die nachfolgende 3D-Rekonstruktion der Tunneloberfläche bildet. Die Oberfläche wird jeweils motorisiert rundum aufgenommen.

InputImages
Aufgenommene Bilder der Oberfläche
3_Match_A2_A3_surf
Dichtes Stereo-Matching zwischen überlappenden Bildern

 

3D-Rekonstruktion-SkyBG
Abgewickelte Tunneloberfläche als Ergebnis der Auswertekette vom Stereo – Matching bis zum Zusammenfügen der einzelnen Rekonstruktionen am Tunnelmodell

 

Top