ROIs-for-Hyper-Spectral-Analysis


ROIs for hyperspectral analysis

This industrial implementation investigates, implements and validates automated methods to object-oriented detection of regions-of-interests (ROI) in hyper-spectral data by applying image processing to multiple feature images.

coffee_featureim
Three channel hyper-spectral feature image (normalized 1st derivative) of coffee beans („Healthy“ and „Immature“ mixed).

Usually, hyper-spectral data associated with an image is based on selective measurements from one (or only a small number of) image pixels.

Information of „Healthy“ and „Immature“ groups after application of „normalized intensity“ pre-processing. Manually selected spectra (each plot is associated with one specific pixel location in the image domain) for the coffee beans classification.
Information of „Healthy“ and „Immature“ groups after application of „normalized intensity“ pre-processing. Manually selected spectra (each plot is associated with one specific pixel location in the image domain) for the coffee beans classification.

With the help of image processing in the local projection domain of hyper-spectral data (feature images) a selection of ROIs is derived for further processing in the hyper-spectral domain. Subsequently, the ROIs are used to select the most interesting spectra from the acquired hyper-spectral data. The algorithms have to be invariant to influences that are inherent to the hyper-spectral imaging process (e.g. motion blur, environmental conditions like temperature and humidity).

The information content of hyper-spectral data is abstracted by features per pixel (i.e. per spectrum) by means of statistical or chemometric (multivariate) analysis. For the segmentation analysis 40 feature channels of the coffee beans data set served as basis for two different approaches to automated segmentation:

  • ROI detection by morphological processing: Since each individual channel is affected by noise due to change in lighting conditions or environmental parameters, the general approach to automated segmentation is based on a three step principle: a) adaptive thresholding to identify fore- and background, b) separation and identification of individual objects (i.e. coffee beans) by means of morphological analysis which can be followed by c) a region growing step to deliver masks for the beans objects.

feat
Feature image.

mask
Binary mask.

cellcent
Derived cell centers.

 

  • Watershed analysis: The first step in automated segmentation based on watershed analysis was the automatic selection of the feature channel having the highest contrast (highest standard deviation in pixel values), which was the feature channel of the 2nd derivative for the coffee beans data. Similar to the first approach, an initial binarization is the basis for the following steps. On this binary mask a distance transform is applied which then delivers local maxima by an iterative search method. The local maxima are used as “seeds” for watershed regions. Combining the watershed regions with the binary mask delivers the desired beans ROIs.

Local maxima, seeds for watershed analysis.
Local maxima, seeds for watershed analysis.

Derived ROIs.
Derived ROIs.

 

Top

Automatische-Regionsdetektion-zur-Hyperspektralanalyse


Automatische Regionsdetektion zur Hyperspektralanalyse

Diese Industrieumsetzung untersucht, implementiert und validiert automatische Verfahren zur objektorientierten Erkennung von relevanten Regionen (ROI) in Hyperspektraldaten durch Anwendung von Bildverarbeitungslösungen auf multiplen Merkmalsbildern.

coffee_featureim
Drei-Kanal Hyperspektral-Merkmalsbild (normierte 1. Ableitung) von Kaffeebohnen unterschiedlicher Güte („Gesund“ und „Unreif“).

Hyperspektraldaten für Bilder werden gewöhnlich durch spezifische Messungen an einzelnen (bzw. wenigen) ausgewählten Pixeln generiert.

Information of „Healthy“ and „Immature“ groups after application of „normalized intensity“ pre-processing. Manually selected spectra (each plot is associated with one specific pixel location in the image domain) for the coffee beans classification.
Hyperspektralkurven für „Gesunde“ und „Unreife“ Kaffeebohnen. Die Spektren wurden manuell für die Kaffeebohnen-Klassifikation selektiert (jeder Plot repräsentiert ein Pixel in der Bilddomäne).

Über Anwendung von Bildverarbeitung in der lokalen Projektionsdomäne von Hyperspektraldaten, i.e. Merkmalsbildern, erfolgt eine automatische Selektion der ROI für die weitere Prozessierung in der Hyperspektraldomäne. Folglich werden diese ROIs verwendet um die interessantesten Spektren aus der Hyperspektralanalyse auszuwählen. Die verwendeten Algorithmen müssen dabei invariant gegenüber Einflüssen des Hyperspektral-Aufnahmeprozess sein (z.B. gegenüber Bewegungsunschärfe oder Temperatureinflüsse).

Die Merkmalsbilder stellen dabei eine Abstrahierung der Hyperspektraldaten durch statistische oder chemometrische (multivariate) Analyse auf Basis von Merkmalsvektoren je Pixel (i.e. Spektrum) dar. Für die automatisierte Verarbeitung stehen 40 Merkmalskanäle der Kaffeebohnen-Daten zur Verfügung und dienen als Basis für zwei unterschiedliche Ansätze:

  • ROI-Detektion mittels mathematischer Morphologie: Da jeder Kanal mit aufnahmebedingtem Rauschen behaftet ist (durch Beleuchtungsunterschiede und andere Umwelteinflüsse) basiert der allgemeine Ansatz zur automatischen Segmentation auf einem drei-stufigen Verfahren: a) adaptives Thresholding um Objekte vom Hintergrund zu trennen, b) Vereinzelung und Identifikation der Objekte (i.e. einzelne Kaffeebohnen) durch morphologische Analyse, sowie einer möglichen c) Maskengenerierung für jedes Objekt durch „Region Growing“.

feat
Merkmalsbild.

mask
Binäre Maske.

cellcent
Abgeleitete Objektzentren.

 

  • Watershed-Analyse: Der erste Schritt der Watershed-Analyse umfasst die automatische Auswahl geeigneter Merkmalsbilder (mit höchstem Kontrast entsprechend größter Standardabweichung der Pixelwerte). Im Falle der Kaffeebohnenklassifikation war dies die 2. Ableitung. Ähnlich dem ersten automatischen Verfahren erfolgt eine Binarisierung als Basis für die folgenden Schritte. Mithilfe einer Distanztransformation auf der binären Maske werden lokale Maxima über ein iteratives Suchverfahren abgeleitet, welche wiederum als Ausganspunkte („Seeds“) für die Watershed-Regionen dienen. Die Kombination von Watershed-Regionen mit der binären Maske liefert schließlich die gewünschten ROIs der Kaffeebohnen.

Local maxima, seeds for watershed analysis.
Lokale Maxima als Start für die Watershed-Analyse.

Derived ROIs.
Abgeleitete ROIs.

 

Top