Inline surface inspection of very fast hot wire rods

Inline surface inspection of very fast hot wire rods

voest Wire Rod Austria recently opened the world’s most advanced wire rod mill in Styria. In order to maintain a leadership position in the harsh competition of the international steel industry, high product quality is of essential importance. Within the scope of Vision+ JOANNEUM RESEARCH developed an innovative optical high-speed inspection system for gapless wire surface testing. The system thus makes a valuable contribution to ensuring product quality and builds an important complement to the existing quality management system of the wire rod mill.

During the hot-rolling process in industrial wire production semi-finished steel billets are heated to red heat and subjected to a multi-stage transformation. Starting from a square profile the processed product successively ends up in circular wire rod. At the end of the rolling train the wire rod attains a velocity of up to 400 km/h and a total length of several kilometres. The different wire products have diameters from 5 up to 60 mm and serve as semi-finished goods e.g. for screws, bolts and chassis components.

The steadily increasing customer requirements for the quality of the produced wire rod demand increasingly better control of the process parameters on the one hand, and also a best possible control of the finished product on the other hand.

The produced red hot wire rod is wound in coils for further transport and processing. In this condition, a surface inspection of the wire is not feasible, therefore the need arises to inspect the wire in red-hot state at maximum feed speed after the last rolling step, see Fig 1.

Fig. 1: Inline test image acquisition system in action at the rolling train (© JR)

A very nifty surface inspection concept is based on the use of line scan cameras and image based defect detection algorithms. In order to ensure a high image quality at resolutions of about 0.5 mm per scan line  the high wire feed rate requires high sampling frequencies and, consequently, high light input.

Steel processing plants in general and rod mills in particular represent a very rough environment for sensitive sensors, optics and electronic components. Large temperature fluctuations, vibrations, moisture, dust and dirt, as well as 24/7 operation greatly afflict a process-integrated inspection System.

Solution

The camera based inspection system developed by JOANNEUM RESEARCH meets the described requirements. It consists of three line scan cameras in order to comprehensively capture the whole wire surface. Each camera is controlled by a dedicated computing unit which receives the captured image data and performs defect detection as well. The necessary light input in mega lux range is provided by circularly arranged, water cooled high performance LED light bars.

Fig. 2: Detected defects during production (© JR)

The defect detection algorithms rely on fast decision tree based classifiers using statistic image features. Beside single defects it is also possible to identify periodic errors which allow conclusions to be drawn about a defective roll. Fig. 2 shows examples of detected surface defects during production process.

The images necessary for training the defect detection algorithms were taken from 1813 km of wire rod with different diameters. To be able to handle the enormous training data amount of several terabytes “WireInspector” was developed. The software allows lot-based visualisation of very long wire images as well as analysis and annotation of surface defects. Fig. 3 shows the graphical user interface (GUI) of WireInspector.

Fig. 3: WireInspector. Software for visualisation and
annotation of wire surface defects (© JR)

Impact and effects

The steel industry has been subject to the strong trend of globalization for decades. Competition on the steel market is steadily becoming tougher. In order to prevail against competitors from countries with low wage levels and rudimentary or no environmental regulations, it is essential to focus on high-tech products, on automation and last but not least on the highest quality.

The implemented image based inline inspection system by JOANNEUM RESEARCH enables a robust 100% in-process testing of high speed, red hot wire surface and comprehensive documentation. The system makes an important contribution to the sustainable assurance of product quality at voestalpine Wire Rod Austria and, not least, to hundreds of qualified local workplaces. The achieved solution will be transferred to a productive system in a follow-up project by voestalpine Wire Rod Austria and JOANNEUM RESEARCH in the near future.

Oberflächeninspektion von sehr schnellem rotglühendem Walzdraht

Oberflächeninspektion von sehr schnellem rotglühendem Walzdraht

voestalpine Wire Rod Austria hat vor kurzem das modernste Heißdrahtwalzwerk der Welt in der Steiermark eröffnet. Eine hohe Produktqualität ist dabei ein wichtiger Garant, um sich im rauen Wettbewerb der internationalisierten Stahlindustrie behaupten zu können. JOANNEUM RESEARCH entwickelte im Rahmen von Vision+ ein innovatives optisches Hochgeschwindigkeits-Inspektionssystem zur lückenlosen Oberflächenprüfung des produzierten Produkts. Das System liefert so einen wertvollen Beitrag zur Sicherung der Produktqualität und bildet eine essentielle Ergänzung des bestehenden Qualitätsmanagementsystems des Walzwerks.

Bei der industriellen Drahtherstellung im Warmwalzverfahren werden Stahlhalbzeuge bis zur Rotglut erhitzt und einer mehrstufigen Umformung unterzogen. Aus einem Halbzeug mit anfänglich quadratischem Querschnitt wird sukzessive dünner, kreisrunder Draht. Am Ende der Walzstraße erreicht der Draht Vorschubgeschwindigkeiten von bis zu 400 km/h und Gesamtlängen von mehreren Kilometern. Der hergestellte Draht hat Durchmesser zwischen 5 und 60 mm und wird als Halbzeug für viele Endprodukte wie beispielsweise Schrauben, Bolzen und Fahrwerksteile verwendet.

Die stetig steigenden Kundenanforderungen an die Qualität des erzeugten Walzdrahtes erfordern einerseits zunehmend bessere Kontrolle der Prozessparameter, andererseits aber auch eine bestmögliche Kontrolle des fertig produzierten Produktes.

Der produzierte Draht wird noch rotglühend für den Transport und die weitere Verarbeitung in Ringe gewickelt. Die Inspektion der Drahtoberfläche in diesem Zustand ist nicht mehr durchführbar, daher ergibt sich die Notwendigkeit den Draht nach dem letzten Walzschritt bei maximaler Vorschubgeschwindigkeit im rot-glühenden Zustand zu inspizieren, siehe Abb. 1.

Abb. 1: Test-Bildaufnahmesystem im Einsatz in der Drahtwalzstraße (© JR)

Ein sehr elegantes Konzept der Oberflächeninspektion beruht auf dem Einsatz von Zeilenkameras und bildbasierten Fehlerdetektionsalgorithmen. Die hohe Drahtgeschwindigkeit erfordert große Abtastraten und damit verbundenen intensiven Lichteintrag, um bei Auflösungen im Bereich von 0,5 mm pro Zeile in Vorschubrichtung noch eine hohe Bildqualität zu gewährleisten. Stahlverarbeitungsbetriebe im Allgemeinen und Warmwalzwerke im Besonderen stellen ein sehr unwirtliches Umfeld für sensible Sensorik, Optik und Elektronik dar, mit großen Temperaturschwankungen, Vibrationen, Feuchtigkeit, Staub und Schmutz im 24/7-Betrieb.

Das durch JOANNEUM RESEARCH entwickelte kamerabasierte Testsystem, das den beschriebenen Anforderungen gerecht wird, besitzt drei Zeilenkameras um die Drahtoberfläche vollständig erfassen zu können. Ringförmig angeordnete, wassergekühlte Hochleistungs-LED-Beleuchtungen liefern den notwendigen Lichteintrag im Megalux-Bereich. Jede Kamera wird von einem Rechner angesteuert, welcher auch die Bilddaten entgegennimmt und die Fehlerdetektion durchführt.

Abb. 2: Detektierte Fehler in der Produktion (© JR)

Die Fehlerdetektion basiert auf sehr schnellen entscheidungsbaumbasierten Klassifikatoren unter Verwendung statistischer Merkmale. Neben vereinzelt auftretenden Fehlern lassen sich auch periodische, von einzelnen defekten Walzen stammende Fehler identifizieren, womit Rückschlüsse auf defekte Walzen möglich sind. Abb. 2 zeigt Beispiele von detektierten Fehlern in der Produktion.

Die zum Training der Fehlerdetektionsalgorithmen notwendigen Aufnahmen stammen von 1813 km Walzdraht mit unterschiedlichen Durchmessern. Um die enorme Menge an Trainingsdaten von mehreren Terrabyte bewältigen zu können, wurde WireInspector, eine Software für die losbezogene Visualisierung langer Drahtaufnahmen und für die Analyse- und Annotation von Oberflächenfehlern entwickelt. Abb. 3 zeigt das grafische Benutzerinterface (GUI) der Software.

Abb. 3: WireInspector. Software zur Visualisierung und manuellen Annotation von Oberflächenfehlern (© JR)

Wirkungen und Effekte

Die Stahlindustrie ist seit Jahrzehnten dem starken Trend der Globalisierung unterworfen. Der Wettbewerb am Stahlmarkt wird sukzessive härter. Um sich gegen Mitbewerber aus Ländern mit niedrigem Lohnniveau und rudimentären oder keinen Umweltauflagen behaupten zu können, ist die Fokussierung auf hochtechnologische Produkte, auf Automatisierung und nicht zuletzt auf höchste Qualität essenziell.

Das von JOANNEUM RESEARCH im Rahmen von Vision+ umgesetzte bildbasierte Testsystem zur Oberflächeninspektion erlaubt eine robuste prozessbegleitende 100%-Prüfung von rot glühenden, sich sehr schnell bewegenden Drahtoberflächen und eine umfassende Dokumentation. Das System bildet eine essentielle Ergänzung des bestehenden Qualitätsmanagementsystems von voestalpine Wire Rod Austria und leistet somit einen wichtigen Beitrag zur nachhaltigen Sicherung der Produktqualität und nicht zuletzt auch des heimischen Standortes mit hunderten qualifizierten Arbeitsplätzen. In naher Zukunft wird das Ergebnis in einem Folgeprojekt von voestalpine Wire Rod Austria und JOANNEUM RESEARCH in ein Produktivsystem übergeführt werden.