Improving terrain rendering using Hardware Tessellation for Ordered Point Clouds (OPCs)

Improving terrain rendering using Hardware Tessellation for Ordered Point Clouds (OPCs)

Time seems to run faster in the field of computer graphics and visualization because of rapid development of new hardware and algorithms. Therefore the advantages of such algorithms have to be presented attractively to industrial partners to keep their interest in innovation and improvements. VRVis created a prototype to visualize Ordered Point Clouds (OPCs), which are used for terrain rendering, more efficiently by the use of the state of the art approach Hardware Tessellation. It showed that the effort of improving already optimized methods with completely new algorithms can create a future-proof base for further projects.

Challenges in the fast paced world of computer graphics

In computer science many developments seem to be out-of-date straight after they hit the market. On the other hand many industries use applications and techniques for a surprisingly long time. Especially internally wide-spread tools are often difficult to change because teaching the use of new ones seems more expensive than keeping older and slower applications.

Therefore presentation of state-of-the art approaches is really important. It is obvious that such solutions have to be developed and created with content known by specialists who will have to work with these approaches.

Especially in visualization many questions, e.g. if the change is really needed because the current system still works fine, are often asked. Only proof of concept can explain the real advantages of new technologies because solutions are highly specialized.

Current laser scanners create a huge amount of data for each virtually reconstructed environment. VRVis already created some highly advanced methods to explore such datasets in real-time. Because technical progress has since advanced, new methods have to be prepared to be presented for the specific needs of industrial partners.

Hardware Tessellation for more efficient use of graphics resources

After some research we discovered that Hardware Tessellation would meet our needs for more efficient visualization of OPC datasets. It is a method which creates more details directly in the computer’s graphics hardware which leads to a much more efficient usage of resources. Especially memory is always a big problem with high tessellation laser-scan datasets. Level of detail solutions, which only show information needed at the moment, are essential. There are still problems with older approaches of these techniques like over-tessellation close to the viewer’s camera or noticeable changes between the fixed levels. For Hardware Tessellation the amount of vertices and therefore the use of memory is highly reduced. Displacement maps are used to keep all information of the dataset highly memory-efficient. With the combination of this data a high tessellated rendering is possible. The closer the user is to the data he is exploring, the more information is shown by the graphics hardware. Figure 1 shows the much higher tessellation closer to the viewer and how the implemented, seamless Level of Detail approach works by lowering details farther away from the camera.

Fig. 1: Hardware Tessellation with seamless level of Detail

Impact and effects

The use of Hardware Tessellation proves that it can highly increase the exploration efficiency of OPC datasets. The industry partners of VRVis are easier to convince by the advantages of such approaches and that the investment of time and money will lead to a better base for further development. The technique is planned to be used for the visualization of terrain or tunnel surfaces, which both already exist as OPCs created by Joanneum Research.

Fig. 2: Rendering of terrain created by a laser scan

Finally the decision, if and how to use this work, is made by industrial partners. The improvements in graphical attractiveness and memory efficiency cannot be denied and technological progress must not be ignored if they try to stay competitive in the fast-paced field of real-time visualization.

Verbesserte Terrainvisualisierung durch Hardware Tessellation für Ordered Point Clouds (OPCs)

Verbesserte Terrainvisualisierung durch Hardware Tessellation für Ordered Point Clouds (OPCs)

Im Bereich der Computergrafik und Visualisierung scheint die Zeit durch die rasche Entwicklung neuer Algorithmen und Hardware, rasch zu verfliegen. Deshalb muss das Interesse an Innovation von Industriepartnern erhalten bleiben. VRVis erstellte einen Prototypen um Ordered Point Clouds (OPCs), welche für die Darstellung von Terrain genutzt werden, mittels Hardware Tessellation verbessert darzustellen. Dieser bewies dass es sich lohnt, selbst bereits stark optimierte Methoden durch neue Algorithmen zu erweitern um eine zukunftssichere Basis für zukünftige Projekte zu schaffen.

Herausforderungen in der schnell- lebigen Welt der Computergrafik

In den Computerwissenschaften wirken manche Entwicklungen bereits kurz nach ihrer Marktreife veraltet. Andererseits werden in vielen Industriebereichen Programme und Techniken überraschend ausdauernd über eine lange Zeit verwendet. Wenn Werkzeuge sich als gut nutzbar erwiesen haben, ist es schwierig, diese auszutauschen da eine Einschulung für die effektive Nutzung der neuen oft teurer wirken, als die Erhaltung von älteren und langsameren Applikationen.

Deshalb ist es wichtig Inhalte am Puls der Zeit ansprechend zu präsentieren. Dazu werden jedoch Ressourcen benötigt, um neue Techniken in einem bisher noch nicht angewandten Umfeld zu zeigen. Spezialisten können so ihnen bekannte Daten neu entdecken und von den Vorteilen überzeugt werden.

In der Visualisierung stößt man dabei oft auf die Frage, ob eine Änderung überhaupt nötig ist, wenn das aktuelle System ja immer noch ausreichend funktioniert.

Aktuelle Laserscanner erzeugen enorme Datenmengen für jede virtuell rekonstruierte Umgebung. VRVis hat bereits in der Vergangenheit fortschrittliche Methoden zur Echtzeiterkundung solcher Datansätze entwickelt. Da die technische Entwicklung seither weiter fortgeschritten ist, wurden neue Methoden für die spezifischen Bedürfnisse von Industriepartnern implementiert und präsentiert.

Hardware Tessellation für die optimale Nutzung der Grafikressourcen

Nach einiger Zeit der Nachforschung wurde festgestellt, dass Hardware Tessellation den Anforderungen für eine verbesserte Darstellung der OPCs genügen könnte. Mit dieser Methode werden Details direkt in der Grafik-Hardware berechnet, wodurch vor allem die effizientere Nutzung des Grafikspeichers erzielt werden könnte, welcher bei der Darstellung hochauflösender Laserscans häufig zum Flaschenhals wird. Dadurch werden Level of Deatil Algorithmen notwendig, die dazu dienen, nur die wirklich notwendigen Teile des Datensatzes darzustellen. Ältere Ansätze haben auch weitere Probleme wie Übertessellierung nahe der Benutzerkamera oder sichtbare Wechsel zwischen den Levels of Detail. Mit der Nutzung von Displacement Maps in Kombination mit Hardware Tessellation kann eine weit effizientere Speichernutzung erzielt werden. Eine stufenlose Erhöhung der Anzahl der dargestellten Punkte und Dreiecke führt auch zu einem visuell attraktiverem Bild. Der Nutzer findet dadurch weit mehr Details in der Auflösung Nahe der Kamera, wie in Abbildung 1 zu erkennen ist.

Abb. 1: Hardware Tessellation mit stufenlosen Levels of Detail

Wirkungen und Effekte

Die Anwendung von Hardware Tessellation zeigt, dass dadurch die Erkundung der OPC-Datensätze weit effizienter gestaltet werden kann. Industriepartner von VRVis sind durch den Prototypen weit einfacher von den Vorteilen dieser Methode zu überzeugen und dass sich der Einsatz von Zeit und Geld für eine übergreifende Implementierung lohnen kann, um auch für zukünftige Entwicklungen gerüstet zu sein. Aktuell wird geplant, diese Methode für die Darstellung von Terrain und Tunneloberflächen zu nutzen, welche bereits als OPCs existieren, die durch Joanneum Research erstellt wurden.

Abb. 2: Darstellung eines Terrains, welches durch Laserscanner erstellt wurde

 

Letztendlich liegt die Entscheidung, ob die Erkenntnisse aus der Nutzung des Prototyps auch umfangreich umgesetzt werden, bei den Industriepartnern. Die Vorteile für die graphische Attraktivität und Speichereffizienz liegen auf der Hand und Um im schnelllebigen Feld der Echtzeitvisualisierung konkurrenzfähig zu bleiben müssen solche Entwicklungen genutzt werden.